Tags

, , ,

I recently read Ian Christe’s Sound of the Beast. It was highly recommended. Eventually it found a place within my writing. It is used in an article I wrote for a male magazine being published very shortly.

While reading this heavy metal bible I saw more I had in common with the men of metal. Dave Prichard, guitarist for Armored Saint, died of leukemia in 1990 “during the creation of Symbol of Salvation”.

John Bush, the singer, said of Dave “He was a piller of strength”. Prichard kept the disease to himself “hardly anybody really knew, and I think he wanted it that way”. In fact, “he was adopted, and he had to find somebody with a match to give him a bone marrow transplant. When you have a bone marrow transplant either it takes or it doesn’t, and if it doesn’t, you’re done. That’s what happened, and that was pretty brutal”.

Dave Prichard, Rest in Peace

 

