Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Victoria Frances

 

 
 
Two pieces of poetry I have shared were written with much contemplation. I initially wrote a political piece that described events that occurred on Queen Street in Toronto one Saturday night.
 
It was a fun night where I saw one of my favourite bands live. I also had the chance to speak to the members of the band more fully.

Yet, the walk along Queen Street, away from the company of Trigger Effect, took on a life of its own. Queen Street became a violent place that was not safe for me, my partner, and a man we met on the walk to the subway. Because this man was dressed differently than the norms prescribed for men, he was harassed by the majority.

So I wrote in my pain. And my pain was reflected in a piece that commented on the discrimination of anyone that broke gender code. We would all be punished for speaking out against hegemonic masculinity.

I reflected more on my piece (with the help of Bob, a writer friend) yet again. He told me my piece had a clear agenda; that it was good, but in ways, it could be better. So I wrote again with a focus on the man that caused such chaos on Queen Street. I wrote thinking of the conversations I had with people who knew Queen Street before it became a gentrified space. We talked of the Goth scene and we reflected on how much we missed it.

I remember how clubs had heavy music and industrial Goth. People dressed in romantic and dark attire, reflecting imagination and creation. I wondered if a Goth scene still existed.

My piece, “The Beautiful Breaker of Code”, is published in The Raven’s Call; a beautiful booklet of writing that keeps the spirit of the Goth alive. To me, it represents dark romance; a need to preserve beauty, intelligence and spirit.

You can find these booklets at Borderline, Hells Belles (on Queen St. W.), The Occult Shop (109 Vaughan Road), the Victorian Garden Tea Room (Burnhamthorpe & Martingrove) and The Rockpile (5555A Dundas St. W.).

I remember the day I saw the little booklet in Borderline. I was buying some high boots with a platform heel. They are leather with little skulls on the side and they lace up. My partner noticed the book and passed it to me. I took it with me and read it in a pub where we had drinks and food. Some of the writing really resonated with me and I contacted Lady Silver who is an editor of the paper. She said she would publish my piece and the corresponding piece “The Raven on Queen Street” in the next issue. Take the time to pick up a copy of the booklet and check out the site to learn more about the people who keep the Goth scene alive.

The Dark Place

Art Work by Victoria Frances

