Tags

, , , ,

Dave Mustaine will be signing copies of his book “Mustaine:  A Heavy Metal Memoir” tomorrow in Toronto.  When I read the news on facebook I was excited, feeling like the universe answered my call.

I will not pay to attend a meet and greet. I am Dave’s biggest fan.  I could get paid for the way I promote him.  If you are my friend, you know what I love, and Megadeth is one of my favorite bands.

Today is the day before I will line up to meet the man I idolize; a Christmas eve of sorts for heavy metal fans.

It is those lips, that hair, his cocky stage presence, emotional and political lyrics with mind shredding guitar that make me jump and scream at his shows.  Though he always has talented musicians in his band, he is Megadeth for me.

I suppose it doesn’t help that I have dreams about him.  Just yesterday I was thinking that the universe needs to know, that if you enter my dreams, you need to keep your clothes on.

These dreams are entering my mind space and littering my writing with vile visuals I have a hard time sharing with anyone, especially my partner, who is now sick of my descriptive details and adventures.

Now that Dave is Christian, how would he feel knowing I desecrate him in dreams and writing?  I suppose it is okay since he has admitted to thinking evil thoughts about ladies…I digress.

The first time I saw Dave was when he spoke in Metallica’s “Some Kind of Monster”.  My immediate reaction was to make fun of such a soft spoken hesper.  Thankfully, I was told that this man was the Dave Mustaine, front man of heavy metal band Megadeth, which went on to become much better and more political than that of it’s predecessor, Metallica.  I was interested but not hopeful.

Soon I saw Megadeth in concert with Ronnie James Dio as lead singer for Black Sabbath.  There was no doubt I would love Dio, I was introduced to his music when I was in vocal lessons and I was floored he sang and wrote lyrics the way he did.

At the show, the first time I had ever heard Megadeth’s music, I was amazed, scribbling nonsensical notes in my journal, attempting to describe what I felt and experienced.  When I heard the audience sing in unison: “If there’s a new way, I’ll be the first in line, but it better work this time” I was hooked.  That was all it took.

Five years later you are meeting a heavy metal fan that devours youtube clips of the man she once laughed at.  Dave vs. the flying bra and Dave vs. the laser, grace my computer screen far too often.

I am known to create characters that are fiction.  I ask myself: “What have I got to lose?” and all I can think is; the fantasy that he was, that I created, will become just that, a fantasy.  From tomorrow on, I will rely on my imagination to allow Dave to live on for me.  I think I will call him Damien.

Dave vs. Laser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sATyjjpVfKI

Dave vs. Flying Bra: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wS-m8fVD1rQ

